Not At ALL Vegan Chicken Pot Pie

I tried to make this Vegan Pot Pie earlier this week, but ran into several problems. First, I couldn’t find the vegan biscuits the original recipe called for, so I skipped them and bought normal biscuits. Then, I realized I needed to make 1/2 of the pie chicken for my husband…except I forgot and mixed all of the ingredients together. So…this could potentially be a healthier version of chicken pot pie…but it’s basically chicken pot pie.

  • 1/2 Onion
  • 1 Tbsp Minced Garlic
  • 2 Cups Vegetable Broth
  • 1 Small Bag Frozen Mixed Vegetables
  • 1/4 cup Almond Milk
  • 1/4 Cup Whole Wheat Flour
  • 2 Bay Leaves
  • 3-4 Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • 2 Cans Refrigerated Biscuits
  1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees
  2. The first thing I did was season the chicken to my liking (garlic powder, onion powder, salt, thyme, pepper). If you plan to use the chicken, place 1 Tbsp olive oil on a skillet and cook the chicken until the juices run clear. Allow it to cool and then cut it up into smaller pieces.
  3. Place 2 Tbsp olive oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add onion, garlic, and salt. Cook until the onions are translucent. About 5-6 minutes.
  4. Whisk in flour and then add then whisk in the vegetable broth.
  5. Add almond milk and bay leaves. Be careful not to crunch up the bay leaves, we will be taking those out later.
  6. Simmer until the mixture is thickened.
  7. Now that the sauce has thickened, add in the frozen vegetables and chicken. Cook for another 5 minutes. My mixture was a little too thick so I added extra vegetable broth (I ended up basically using the entire carton).
  8. Taste you mixture and add additional seasoning if needed. I think I added in some red pepper flasks here to make it a little zesty.
  9. IMG_3072.JPGdiscard the bay leaves.
  10. Pour the mixture into a baking dish. Top with your biscuits.
  11. Bake for about 15 minutes. I you used cheap biscuits from Wal-Mart like I did, check it FREQUENTLY because the cheap biscuits are thin and will burn fast!
  12. Cool before serving.

 

 

Leave a Reply

