Man Catchin’ Wings!

CAUTION: I am not responsible if these wings get you a husband or cause your current husband to want to marry you again!

Let’s discuss the origin of these wings. I met a nice young man in college and invited him over to my house for dinner, it was basically our first date. I wanted to make him some wings (because men like wings), but I had never really tried before. So, I found a generic recipe for how to make wings online and went out to get some supplies. Little did I know this would be the perfect combination of supplies that would lead this young man and every person who tried them after him to call them “The Wings.” I have tried to switch up the recipe with different ingredients and it just never tastes the same as the original way.

Why have I decided to name them “Man Catchin Wings” instead? Well, the young man who came over for dinner loved them! He knew he could only get them if I made them and as a result, he came to visit me much more frequently in that year. That man is now my husband. Not to mention that a few friends of mine have shared these wings with their significant others and coincidentally ended up gaining boyfriends, fiancés or husbands. I’m not saying the wings were the only reason…but it may have opened the door!

Now on to the ingredients…

2 Packages of Drumettes

Brown Sugar IMG_2372

1 Bag of Hooters Wing Breading

1 Bottle of Moore’s Honey BBQ Sauce

The following seasonings:

Onion Powder, Garlic Powder, Paprika, Seasoned Salt, Black Pepper, Cayenne Pepper.Mustard Powder

Vegetable Oil

Ziploc Bag

The drumettes can be found by the chicken in your local grocery store. I prefer them as opposed to actual wings because they cook faster, but wings will work too. The brand of wing breading is important and the brand of sauce is a necessity. I have been able to find Hooter’s breading at only Wal-Mart and Winn-Dixie as far as chains go. I have had luck at less popular stores like Piggly Wiggly as well. The sauce can be very difficult to find. It’s only at some Winn-Dixie and I can never find it at any other chain store. Other places I’ve found it – Star Market, Piggly Wiggly. Basically, if you drive by a sketchy looking unpopular grocery store, it’s probably in there. When I do find it, I buy at least 6-8 bottles just in case.

Let’s get cooking…this recipe takes about an hour and a half depending on how many wings you decide to make.

  1. Pour the vegetable oil into a pot and put it on medium temperature (or use a deep fryer on the chicken setting). I usually use about 3-4 cups depending on the size of the pot that I use. IMG_2374
  2. While the oil is heating, season your chicken. I typically dump the chicken into a large Tupperware bowl to season. I use enough garlic, onion powder, and seasoned salt to lightly coat the chicken. Then, I sprinkle the black and cayenne pepper lightly, not covering the chicken. I also add in about a tablespoon of dark brown sugar. Lastly, I add a little pinch of paprika and a pinch of mustard powder.
  3. Once the chicken has been seasoned I use my hands to massage and spread the seasonings evenly over each piece.
  4. Set the chicken aside and grab your wing breading and a large Ziploc bag. Pour about half of the breading into the bag.
  5. Season the flour in exactly the same proportions that you seasoned the chicken. (Meaning a little heavy on the seasoned salt, garlic and onion powder and lighter on the peppers, mustard powder, and paprika. Don’t forget the brown sugar! ) Then shake up the bag.IMG_2376
  6. Now you are ready to coat the chicken. Place about 5-6 pieces in the Ziploc bag and shake the bag until the chicken is fully coated. Once the chicken has been coated, place it into your pot, which should be at the right temperature to fry by now. Each batch will need to fry for about 20 minutes or until they have all turned a medium brown. Remove the chicken from the pot and place into a large Tupperware (that has a lid). Make sure to line the Tupperware with paper towels to absorb the grease from the chicken.
  7. While you are frying your chicken, preheat the oven on to 400 degrees.
  8. After you have fried your last batch, turn your aisle to off and remove the oil from it. Place your chicken on a bakingIMG_2386 sheet and bake for about 10 minutes. I always do this to ensure the chicken is cooked through as well to make sure that all of the wings are the same temperature.
  9. Remove the drumettes from the oven (don’t forget to turn it off!) and place them back in the Tupperware bowl. Pour about half of the wing sauce over the chicken. Place the lid on the Tupperware and shake the container until the sauce is evenly spread over the chicken. Add more and repeat this process if the wings are not fully covered.
  10. Serve immediately either by themselves or with fries! The sauce his a bit of a bite so you may also want to serve with water.

IMG_2387IMG_2390IMG_2393

Happy Hunting Ladies!

Leave a Reply

